Skip to content

Lee Konitz: Back to Basics

January 19, 2014

image

http://www.melmartin.com/html_pages/Interviews/konitz.html

From the site:

I studied with Lennie Tristano in Chicago when I was in my late teens. I’d met him and was immediately impressed by him. He was a blind man, and the communication was unusual in that sense; but he always talked very straight with me. He was a musician/philosopher. He always had interesting insights when we got together for a lesson or a rehearsal. I didn’t know, as yet, anything about the music as an art form. But he felt and communicated that the music was a serious matter. It wasn’t a’ game or just a means for making a living; it was a life force. He got through to me because suddenly I was taking music seriously.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

