Skip to content

Understanding Forward Motion

December 24, 2013

image

http://www.halgalper.com/articles/understandingforwardmotion/

From the site:

My original three articles on Forward Motion were published in Down Beat Magazine in 1980 & 1981. Their purpose was to show how melodies work as well as offering a way of practicing scales more in the manner they are used than in the way they were originally learned. Since that time my understanding of the subject has grown and the way I use FM in my teaching has been modified. Originally, I used FM to correct what I saw as a technical and theoretical problem. Now I see FM exercises as being used to correct what are basically perceptual problems. As most problems with playing music are perceptual in nature, to change the way you play you have to change the way you think.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

