Skip to content

Allan Schwartzberg and Jim Payne

February 23, 2013

image

http://www.stereosociety.com/schpayne.shtml

Love this interview with Allan Schwartzberg – great drummer. Interview is from Jim Payne’s great book Give the Drummer Some.

From the site:

Around that time I heard an Aretha Franklin record called "Chain Of Fools," with Roger Hawkins on drums. I heard that back beat and I said, man, there’s something else out there besides Philly Joe Jones.

And I heard James Brown’s "I Got The Feelin," with that great beat the Clyde Stubblefield did, and I said to myself, this is slammin’ stuff here, this is definitely happening!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

