Skip to content

The Marvin Sewell Interview Part 1

January 1, 2013

image

http://jazztruth.blogspot.com/2012/12/the-marvin-sewell-interview-part-1.html#comment-form

Great interview with Marvin Sewell from the JazzTruth blog:

I was struck immediately by Sewell’s melodic, harmonic, and rhythmic approach. His improvisation sounded more like a saxophone player than a guitarist. His lines were very angular, and very unpredictable. After touring with the Overkill band a few times, we met again in 1999 for my first tour with Cassandra Wilson. In that setting, Sewell played acoustic guitar with alternate tunings and played a lot of bluesy slide guitar. I was impressed with his versatility. Sewell spent over a decade with legendary vocalist Wilson. Most recently, Sewell and I met up again on a tour of the U.K. with drummer Jack DeJohnette. Again, Sewell’s unique approach really bowled me over. I found myself wondering why all guitarists didn’t approach music like Sewell. (Also, Sewell, is not too shabby as a pianist; in fact, he easily knows more classical repertoire on piano than I do.)We had a small window of time during our detour to Tbilisi(in Georgia, the former Soviet territory), so I was able to grab an interview. This will run in two parts. Enjoy!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

